Skip to main content

Heritage Places of Adelaide

Union Building Group, The University of Adelaide (including the Lady Symon Building, the George Murray Building, the Cloisters, the Western Annexe and the multi-level Union House)

Victoria Drive ADELAIDE

State Heritage Place

This group of buildings represents two major stages of development for the Adelaide University Union to provide services and facilities for students on campus. The earlier Georgian buildings designed by Woods, Bagot, Jory and Laybourne-Smith reflect the influence that firm had on the built character of the university campus. These subsequently provided the parameters for the structure and design of Union House, noted for the quality of its internal spaces and its relationship to the earlier buildings. Significant also for the use of timber in large-scale structures and in its high level of building craftsmanship, Union House is considered to be the culmination of a series of buildings in the 1960s-70s by the prominent South Australian partnership of Dickson and Platten which developed a 'vernacular' adaptation of modernism. (HSA Assessment Report 2/2002).

Listing Information

  • Date of Listing: 25 July 2002
  • Heritage Listing Criteria:

    Criteria E: it demonstrates a high degree of creative, aesthetic or technical accomplishment or is an outstanding representative of particular construction techniques or design characteristics;

    Criteria G: it has a special association with the life or work of a person or organisation or an event of historical importance.

More Information